Foods To Include In Your Diet During The Daniel Fast

All Fruits -  These can be fresh, frozen, dried, or canned. Fruits include but are not limited to, apples, apricots, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, boysenberries, cantaloupe, cherries, cranberries figs, grapefruit, grapes, guava, honeydew melon, kiwi, lemons, limes, mangoes, nectarines, oranges, papayas, peaches, pears, pineapples, plums, prunes, raisins, raspberries, strawberries, tangelos, tangerines, and watermelon.

All Vegetables -  These can be fresh, frozen, tired, or canned. Vegetables include, but are not limited to, artichokes, asparagus, beets, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, celery, chili peppers, collard greens, corn, cucumbers, eggplant garlic, ginger root, kale, leeks, lettuce,  mushrooms, mustard greens, okra, onions, parsley, potatoes, radishes, rutabaga, scallions, spinach, sprouts, squashes, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, turnips, watercress yams, and zucchini. Veggie burgers, are also an option if you are no allergic to soy.

All Whole Grains -  Including, but not limited to, whole wheat, brown rice, millet, quinoa, oats, barley, grits, whole wheat pasta, whole wheat tortillas, rice cakes and popcorn. 

All Nuts and Seeds -  Including, but not limited to, sunflower seeds, cashews, peanuts, sesame seeds. Also, nut butters including peanut butter and Nutella.

All Quality Oils -  Including, but not limited to, olive, canola, grape seed, coconut, peanut and sesame. 

All Legumes -  These can be canned or dried. Legumes include but are not limited to, dried brans, pinto beans, split peas, lentils, black eyed peas, kidney beans, black beans, cannelloni beans, and white beans. 

Beverages -  Spring water, distilled water, 100% all-natural fruit juices, 100% all-natural vegetable juices. You may drink protein drinks and smoothies if they are sugar-free, dairy-free and chemical free.

Other - Tofu, olives, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spice. Soy and rice mils are acceptable for cooking and with cereal, however, they should not be used as a beverage since the Daniel Fast is a "water only" beverage fast with the exception of 100% fruit or vegetable juice (merely pulp with water).

Foods To Avoid On The Daniel Fast

All Meat and Animal Products -  Including but not limited to beef, lamb, pork, poultry, and fish.

All Dairy Products -  Including but not limited to milk, cheese, cream, butter, and eggs. 

All Sweeteners  - Including but no listed to sugar, raw sugar, honey, syrups, molasses, and cane juice.

All Leavened Bread - Including Ezekiel Break (it contains yeast and honey) and all baked goods.

All Refined and Processed Food Products - Including but not limited to artificial flavorings, food additives, chemicals, white rice, white flour, and foods that contain artificial preservatives. 

All Deep Fried Foods - Including but not limited to potato chips, french fries, and corn chips.

All Solid Fats - Including shortening, margarine, lard and foods high in fat.

Beverages - Including but not limited to coffee, tea, herbal teas, carbonated beverages, energy drinks, and alcohol. Please keep in mind that the Daniel Fast is a "water only" beverage fast. The exception is 100% juice, since it is merely pulp in water.

*Please make sure to READ THE LABEL when purchasing packaged, canned or bottled foods. They should be sugar-free and chemical-free. 

Locations and Service Times


Main Campus

Sundays 8:00 AM & 10:45 AM

Wednesdays 12:00 PM & 6:30 PM

740 East ML King Boulevard

Chattanooga, TN 37403-2926



Matthew 25 Campus

Sundays 9:30 AM

Saturday Service 11:00 am

751 East ML King Boulevard

Chattanooga, TN 37403-2926



Highway 58 Campus

Sundays 12:00 PM

Tuesdays 7pm

4872 Jersey Pike

Chattanooga, TN 37416



© 2020 Olivet Baptist Church, Chattanooga, TN.  Created by Tucker Creative Visionz.